L’Ultra Marin Raid Golfe du Morbihan

Sporting activity and discovery in Gulf of Morbihan

Since 2005 the Ultra Marin Raid Golfe du Morbihan Association has organised an annual Trail Running event in the month of June. This sport orientated experience involves a number of races along trails comprising of approximately 80% paths and 20% roads marked out by Morbihan Council around the Gulf of Morbihan area. The Ultra Marin winds its way through 16 municipalities including the urban areas of Vannes and Auray as well as Séné, Theix-Noyalo, Le Hézo, Saint-Armel,Sarzeau, Saint Gildas,Arzon, Locmariaquer, Crach, Pluneret, Le Bono, Baden, Larmor-Baden and Arradon.

This unusual, visually appealing and varied running course in the heart of the Gulf of Morbihan and Brittany has been marked out and made safe for competitors day and night during the event. Participants can subsequently enjoy a major sporting challenge in a marvellously magical setting.

Every year competitors sprint their way along coastal trails from one cove to the next, skirting lovely little beaches and rocky outcrops and soaking up the fabulous scenery of the Gulf of Morbihan. Heather and gorse-lined paths take them through pine forests to the old tide-powered windmills of Noyalo andPen Castel on the Peninsula of Rhuys. Participants cross stone bridges and the old suspension bridge at Le Bono with wonderful views of the river and continue on through the many little ports that dot the route including Saint-Goustan, Port-Navalo, Port du Logeo, Port-Blanc, Port-Anna and Vannes.

Menhirs pop into view along the way as well as the megalithic burial mounds atKernours just outside the town of Le Bono.

Runners will also pass timbered houses along their journey such as those in the port of Saint-Goustan with its cobbled streets lined with small restaurants, as well as fishermen’s cottages hugging coastal paths and old Breton stone houses fringing village streets. Participants might also be surprised by the diversity of bird species as they cross the marshlands of Séné, Hézo and Saint-Armel– a wonderful sight for those of a dreamy disposition.

Despite the rugged nature of the coastline, especially at Arzon and at Larmor-Baden, this 177 kilometre course incorporates a total rise and fall in ground level of 1054 metres and does not present any major technical challenges.

However this is a long distance race and as such requires participants to prepare themselves physically to cope with a variety of surfaces from soft sand to hard rock, dirt trails and bitumen. Trails are often littered with tree roots and other stumbling hazards so participants are required to be vigilant and wear a head torch when running at night.

Races circuits 2019

In 2019, no major changes to routes for the différent Trails: the 177 km and the Relays will run as it has done last year, in a loop shape from Vannes back to Vannes in the same direction: Vannes to Larmor Baden – Auray – Locmariaquer- Port-Navalo – Sarzeau and back to Vannes. Half way around the course racers of Grand Raid 177km will be required to cross the Gulf from Locmariaquer to Port-Navalo by boat and a mid-race refreshment stop will be provided after the boat crossing at Port-Navalo. The 87 km Raid foot race will kick off at Port du Crouesty and end at the esplanade in Vannes harbour. Trail 56 is a 56 km foot race that starts at Sarzeau and ends in Vannes as well. The 36km Ronde des Douaniers race will depart from Séné. The route of the Nordic Walk will change with another departure site but always in Séné. The distance of the race will be around 25km.

As usual the finish line for all races is on the esplanade of the port, quay Eric Tabarly, in Vannes.

Refreshment stops

The principle of all these races is semi food self-sufficiency. There are 10 refuelling stops dotted along the 177 kilometre course, approximately every 15 to 20 kilometres : 6 light refreshment stops providing beverages, fresh and dried fruit and cheese and 4 more comprehensive refreshment stops providing hot meals at Le Bono, Arzon, Sarzeau and Vannes. There are also 3 water stops (water only) at Locmariaquer, Le Hézo (Estran) and Port-Anna. Medical teams are on stand-by at all 4 rest stops of Le Bono, Arzon, Sarzeau and Vannes. Two medical and response vehicles are also in attendance along the course for the duration of the event.

The Ultra Marin Village

Since 2010, Vannes has been at the heart of the event. The esplanade at Vannes harbour is the location for the Ultra Marin village with its exhibitor stands, podium and diverse entertainment during the 3-day long event. This is the start location for the 177km Grand Raid and the finish location for all races.

Ultra Marin volunteers

Approximately 1200 volunteers participate every year in the organisation of the event by providing direction, ensuring safety along the course and by cheering on walkers and runners.

2019 Races

Trails

4 free-style foot races to walk or run in one go. Open to both experienced racers and walkers :

Raid 87km 2018

Nordic Walk

Marche Nordique 2018

Relays

Ultra Marin Challenge

Teams comprising of at least a minimum of 5 competitors can participate in the Challenge. Each team member selects one of the 5 races and those who successfully reach the finish lines earn from 1 to 6 points for their team depending on their choice of race.

Bénévoles 2018 de L'Ultra Marin, Le Hézo
Bénévoles 2018 de l'Ultra marin

L’Ultra Marin Raid Golfe du Morbihan

Sport et découverte du Golfe du Morbihan

L’Ultra Marin est organisé tous les ans, au mois de juin, par l’association Ultra Marin Raid Golfe du Morbihan, depuis l’année 2005. Cet évènement sportif regroupe plusieurs courses pédestres empruntant les chemins de randonnée tracés par le Conseil Départemental du Morbihan autour du Golfe du Morbihan et comprenant environ 80% de sentiers et 20% de routes. L’Ultra Marin traverse 16 communes dont les zones urbaines de Vannes et Auray ainsi que Séné, Theix-Noyalo, Le Hézo, Saint-Armel, Sarzeau, Saint Gildas, Arzon, Locmariaquer, Crach, Pluneret, Le Bono, Baden, Larmor-Baden, Arradon.

C’est un circuit atypique au cœur du Golfe du Morbihan et de la Bretagne, un parcours riche et diversifié, balisé et sécurisé pendant la manifestation et permettant aux concurrents de réaliser un défi sportif d’envergure se déroulant de jour et de nuit, dans un cadre naturel splendide et magique.

Les concurrents s’élancent ainsi chaque année sur les chemins côtiers, allant d’une anse à l’autre et passant sur les petites plages ou au milieu des rochers, tout en se délectant des magnifiques paysages offerts par le Golfe du Morbihan. Les chemins bordés de bruyères et d’ajoncs les emmènent à travers les bois de pins jusqu’aux anciens moulins à marée, comme ceux de Noyalo et de Pen Castel sur la presqu’île de Rhuys. Ils traversent les ponts de pierre et le vieux pont suspendu du Bono avec une vue imprenable sur la rivière pour rejoindre les nombreux petits ports qui jalonnent le circuit : Saint-Goustan, Port-Navalo, Port du Logeo, Port-Blanc, Port-Anna, Vannes.
Au détour des chemins, quelques menhirs apparaissent ici et là ainsi qu’un site mégalithique, celui de Kernours, sur la commune du Bono. Quelques maisons à colombages, comme celles du port de Saint-Goustan, avec ses rues pavées bordées de petits restaurants, les petites maisons de pêcheurs le long des chemins côtiers ou les vieilles maisons en pierre bretonnes dans les ruelles des villages sont à découvrir tout au long du périple. Dans les marais de Séné ou ceux du Hézo et de Saint-Armel, de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux attendent les traileurs et surprennent les rêveurs.

Parcours 2019

En 2019, Il n’y a pas de modifications de parcours importantes pour les Trails : Le Grand Raid de 177km et les Relais se réaliseront à nouveau en boucle, de Vannes à Vannes, pour la 10ème année consécutive et dans le même sens qu’en 2018: de Vannes vers Larmor-Baden – Le Bono – Auray – Locmariaquer – Port-Navalo – Sarzeau – Vannes. Il comprendra à mi-parcours une traversée du Golfe en bateau, de Locmariaquer à Port-Navalo et le ravitaillement de mi-parcours se fera après le passage en bateau, à Arzon. Le Raid de 87km partira à nouveau du Port du Crouesty pour rejoindre l’esplanade du port de Vannes. Le Trail de 56km partira du Bourg de Sarzeau pour rejoindre Vannes également. La Ronde des Douaniers 36km, partira du bourg de Séné. La Marche Nordique partira cette année du stade le Derf à Séné et la distance du nouveau parcours sera d’environ 25km.

L’arrivée de toutes les courses se fait toujours sur l’esplanade du port de Vannes, quai Eric Tabarly.

Les Ravitaillements

Le principe de l’ensemble de ces courses est la semi-autosuffisance alimentaire. 10 postes de ravitaillement seront disposés sur le parcours de 177km, environ tous les 15 ou 20km sur l’ensemble du parcours: 6 ravitaillements légers comportant essentiellement des boissons, des fruits frais, des fruits secs et du fromage et 4 ravitaillements solides plus consistants avec des plats chauds sur les sites de Larmor Baden, Arzon, Sarzeau et Vannes, ainsi que 3 points d’eau, pour le ravitaillement en eau uniquement, à l’embarquement de Locmariaquer, au Hézo (salle de l’Estran) et à Port-Anna. Sur les 4 sites de repos, placés au Bono, à Arzon, à Sarzeau et à Vannes, une équipe médicale structurée est mise en place. 2 véhicules médicalisés sont par ailleurs positionnés de façon évolutive sur le parcours pendant toute la durée de la manifestation.

Le Village Ultra Marin

Depuis 2010, la ville de Vannes est au cœur du dispositif et l’esplanade du port de Vannes accueille le Village Ultra Marin avec les stands des exposants, le podium et diverses animations durant les 3 jours de l’évènement. C’est le point de départ du Grand Raid de 177km et des Relais par équipes et le lieu d’arrivée de toutes les épreuves.

Les bénévoles de l’Ultra Marin

Environ 1200 bénévoles participent dorénavant à l’organisation afin d’assurer l’assistance aux participants, la sécurité et la convivialité de la course sur l’ensemble du parcours.

Courses 2019

Les Trails

4 courses pédestres à allure libre à réaliser en une seule étape et s’adressant aux coureurs et aux marcheurs expérimentés et entraînés :

Raid 87km 2018

La Marche Nordique

Marche Nordique 2018

Les Relais

Challenge Ultra Marin

Une équipe de 5 compétiteurs minimum peut participer au challenge. Chaque membre de l’équipe choisit de s’inscrire à l’une des 5 épreuves de l’Ultra Marin et chaque finisher gagne des points pour son équipe, allant de 6 à 1 selon la course sur laquelle il s’est engagé.

Bénévoles 2018 de L'Ultra Marin, Le Hézo

Bénévoles 2018 de l'Ultra marin